Hong Kong in My Tummy

– The Food –

Let’s start off with the necessity: FOOD! It definitely helps to know someone who is local or else we’d be wandering through all the tourist traps.

Cold Milk Tea

Genki Sushi

My first conveyer belt sushi experience!

Genki Sushi

Different color and style of plates are different prices.

Kaiser Bakery

Breakfast almost every morning.

lemon coke

Lemon Coke! So simple but I’ve never had and love it now! I don’t normally drink a lot of soda but this made me drink Coke a lot.

curry fish balls

One of my favorite things about Hong Kong! Curry Fish Balls at almost every block.

Lin Heung Kui, 蓮香居, tea

Lin Heung Kui (蓮香居) a more traditional tea setting where everyone gets their own cup of tea.

Yue Kee Roasted Goose Restaurant, 裕記燒鵝飯店, honey lemon shrimp

Honey lemon shrimp at Yue Kee Roasted Goose Restaurant (裕記燒鵝飯店) was delicious! This store is located in the back of a parking lot down a small street. Somewhere you may not have discovered if no one has been there before.

Lucky Dessert, 發記甜品, durian

Lucky Dessert (發記甜品) is a cute “old school” dessert place with plastic seats outside that you see in Hong Kong movies. There is a variety of desserts you can choose from like durian, mango or shaved ice. It was the first time for some of the Si Hing’s to try durian!

korean grilled squid

This was from a stand in Ocean Park. When you order it, the person runs it through the grill one more time to make it hot. I preferred it normal temperature though.

Hui Lau Shan, 許留山

Hui Lau Shan (許留山) 3 layer drinks were delicious! They have a layer of coconut jelly that they do not have back home!

Parfaite Patisserie, macarons, xoxo, badtz maru

I stumbled upon Parfaite Patisserie by accident checking prices of currency exchange places to look for the best rate. I noticed these Badtz Maru, which they call XOXO, maracons by the window so I went inside. The lady was very sweet and we ended up having a conversation about traveling.

cafe de coral

“A typical Hong Kong breakfast.” At home, this is also a “typical breakfast” for me but I did not like how it was made here. I make the same thing at home more to my liking..

Pizza 2, King Pizza Tuesday, pizza

Ainhi recommended we try Pizza 2 aka King Pizza Tuesday right by the Ten Thousand Buddha Temple. I was not a fan of their pizza but their mash potatoes I liked.

snake soup

Can you believe I tried SNAKE soup!? Normally at home I wouldn’t try anything “weird” but being in Hong Kong, I had the mentality of ‘I’m on vacation, let me try everything.’ It just tasted like fish.

noodles

I cannot recall this restaurant’s name and they didn’t have a business card but it was in a cafeteria setting. There are many stands around and tables in the middle. At this particular stand, you get to pick the type of noodle you wants, how you wanted it cooked and what goes on top.

I didn’t think I would be eating chicken and french fries in Hong Kong but after lion dance practice, this place was right around the corner in a hole of a building. You are find the best things in hidden places!

鯉魚門, Wai Lung Seafood Restaurant, 威龍海鮮酒家, fish market

In 鯉魚門, there are fish markets associated with a restaurant usually across from them. You picked out the type of fish you want from the market then let the restaurant know how you want it cooked so everything is guaranteed fresh! The restaurant we went to was Wai Lung Seafood Restaurant (威龍海鮮酒家); it was amazing!!
Warning: There are people outside of every restaurant trying to get you to pick their restaurant! Also, it is best to go with someone who knows the places since there is no set menu or price here, they can tell you whatever price they want.

Dai Man Ki, 大滿喜日本料理

If you are going to Dai Man Ki (大滿喜日本料理) for sushi, make sure you make a reservation!

The food in Hong Kong is definitely a bit different than back home. I didn’t get the oily feeling in my throat, chest and stomach that I get from almost anything I eat. However, there are things I prefer back home. For example, the takoyaki aka the octopus balls. They fill their takoyaki with lettuce! Lots of it!

Restaurant Information:

安利 大排檔
Address: Hong Kong, 筲箕灣東大街57號
Phone:+852 2567 7122


Genki Sushi (元気寿司)
– various locations


Kaiser Bakery
– Kawloon


Lin Heung Kui (蓮香居)
Address: 2-3 Floor, 46-50 Des Voeux Rd W, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong
Phone: +852 2156 9328


Yue Kee Roasted Goose Restaurant (裕記燒鵝飯店)
Address: 9 Sham Hong Road, Sham Tseng, Hong Kong
Phone: 24910105
Website: http://www.yuekee.com.hk


Lucky Dessert (發記甜品)
– various locations
Address: 92 – 93 Sham Tseng Tsuen, Sham Tseng
Phone: 2496 9163


Hui Lau Shan (許留山)
– various locations
Address: Star House, 3 Salisbury Rd, Kowloon City
Phone: +852 2377 9766


Parfaite Patisserie
Address: 17A Yim Po Fond St, MongKok, Kowloown
Phone: +852 2295 4338


Cafe De Coral
– various locations
Website: http://www.cafedecoralfastfood.com/


Pizza 2 aka King Pizza Tuesday
Address: 12 Pai Tau Tsuen, Sha Tin
Phone: 2693 0000


Wai Lung Seafood Restaurant (威龍海鮮酒家)
Address: 鯉魚門海傍道中17號
Phone: 2340 1003


Dai Man Ki (大滿喜日本料理)
Address: 8/F, Chong Hing Square, 601 Nathan Rd
Phone: 3622 2162

One thought on “Hong Kong in My Tummy

Leave a Reply

