Dancing Lions :: Moon Festival

Moon Fest Supports

Yesterday was the celebration of the Moon Festival in Chinatown where I was able to partake in the event for the first time.

First I would like to say thank you to all the family & friends that came out to support me!!!

I use to go to this festival every year when I was younger just wandering the street the whole seeing my 30 best friends. 😏 Later on, not only did I only stop by to make it a tradition, it was rare seeing anyone I knew there. But now, I was able to be a part of the event.

Since I joined Cheung Shu Pui’s Kung Fu Academy, I have prataken in the Independence Day parade, a birthday and a wedding where I either played the symbol or was the tail. The Moon Festival is what sifu has been training us newbies for; lions and first form demonstration.

Being the lion is really exciting when you have a bunch of kids in the crowd because they are excited to see the lions but also scared of them. It does get very tiring very quickly though; especially when you have to parade down the street as oppose to staying in a general area. I also use to think being the tail was very easy but it is actually a lot more painful to the entire body whereas the head is just tiring to the arms.

Moon Festival

Eight of us performed first form while others had weapons. I am not a very intimating kung fu student or lion. I giggled a lot during the form because Ainhi was right in front of me taking pictures.  And I was told I look like a very happy lion while everyone else looked tough; just adding a little joy to the world. 😋

It is amazing how many different personalities, morals, beliefs and talents I have met since starting this only 2 and a half month ago. This isn’t even a quarter of sifu’s students. I am super excited to meet new students at every event; and hopefully in other countries too!


On a side note, I had to do some research about the Moon Festival for a presentation and learned a few stories about how the event came to be. Links to stories I read below. The most interesting this though is that you can see a bunny on the moon that night. Keep an eye out for it on Thursday, September 19th this year (aka 8th month, 15th day of the lunar calendar.)

Let me know if you see it!

Leave a Reply

